Love Has A Language

It’s February, and love is in the air!

Valentine’s Day, an annual celebration of love and romance, will be observed on February 14th, and lovers around the world will mark the occasion by exchanging cards, chocolates, and other tokens of their affection. But did you know that these things may not delight your significant other as much as, say, quality time or acts of service might? It depends on their love language.

Love languages were identified and explored by Gary Chapman in his 1992 book “The Five Love Languages,” and learning your partner’s primary language can really help them feel your affection for them.

Think of your love language as the fuel for your “love tank.” In the same way that your car’s engine runs better when its gas tank is full, a full love tank will get you and your partner’s engine revving too, so fill up your love tanks!

You can do this by showing your affection in a way that corresponds to their primary love language, and they can reciprocate by showing their affection to you through yours!

Everybody has at least one love language, and there are five in total:

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Physical Touch
  3. Receiving Gifts
  4. Quality Time
  5. Acts of Service

Each language comes with unique opportunities to connect. For example, if your significant other’s love language is “Words of Affirmation”, try to encourage, affirm, appreciate and empathize with them verbally. It will mean a lot more than a box of chocolates or a back rub would- not that those things won’t be appreciated- they just won’t move the needle on their love tank as much as genuine, kind words in this case.


Let’s start with a high-level look at this concept. What language do you think you are? A clue might just be found in how you express your love!

  • Do you often tell your partner how you feel about them? It might be words of affirmation.
  • Do you like doing things around the house, like chores, to show your affection? It might be acts of service.
  • Do you like giving flowers or items to your partner? It might be receiving gifts.
  • Do you enjoy being with your partner, maybe sharing an activity or experience together? It might be quality time.
  • Do you enjoy holding hands, hugging, or touching your partner? It might be physical touch.


It’s OK if you like doing multiple things on the list, but which one of those would you choose if you could only choose one? That could be a strong clue as to how your partner can fill your “love tank,” and the answer your partner gives maybe the best way to show your love to them.

Love languages can be a lot of fun to explore- and there’s no better time than February to do it! And while you explore, we recommend you help set the mood right with our TLEO “love is in the air” blend, a pleasant way to add a little scent to the love that’s actually in the air!


Love is in the Air Blend Recipe:

For more information about Total Life Essentials, visit our product pages.

Download The 15 Day Challenge Program

By signing up you agree to receive recurring automated marketing messages from Total Life Changes. View Terms of Use & Privacy Policy.